Dream Boogies, Conan O’Brien and Permissions

So tonight I tried out the complimentary trial session of SARK’s Dream Boogie Workshops. I’ve been a big fan of SARK for quite a long time, but her book “Make Your Creative Dreams Real” made an impact on me recently. When I’m down and feel friendless, sometimes I call the line she’s had for like 15 years and listen to her sing or talk about things that are kindred to me.

Anyway, it was a good session. Enough so that if I had the money to do it, I would shell out the $180 to continue for another 7 weeks.  The small group session was amazing. Understand, that this whole workshop is held over the phone and online, but in just about 12 minutes I felt very connected to the very different two women who were randomly put in my small group. I think the closest I’ve felt to that before was once at this church in North Carolina, where I ended up talking to someone randomly in this weird little prophetic practice session, where we were supposed to go and give a word from the LORD to someone we had never met. I ended up talking to three people who were very different, but whom I was instantly connected to the moment one of us spoke.

So this thing is all about naming and realizing your dreams, right? And while it was impowering to say my dreams out loud and to confess what stage I believed them to be in, it was super powerful to hear other women do it, and I began to think how dreams germinate.

See, I went to see Conan O’Brien’s “Legally Prohibited From Being Funny On Television” tour.  They had all of us Twitter addicts post about the show under #jubjub. All around I heard people ask “what is THAT about”. And it got me thinking, because I know what it’s about. It’s a nod to Conan’s work on the Simpsons, and his penchant for making up gibberish words, and one of them, “jubjub” became the name of an iguana on the show. It’s little, but one word made an impression that I remembered immediately.

I’m in the audience, watching this talk show host play guitar with the inflatable bat from Meatloaf’s bat out of hell behind him, thinking about how this dude started out in local improvisational theatre, and worked his heiney off  and became a writer for two of the most popular and long running shows ever. THEN he got his own late night show, and then he got THE late night show. Then the network did what networks do, they tried to move stuff around to make more money, but that wasn’t what he wanted to do. So he took the bigass severance package and put on a live show, and looked to be working hard but having a BLAST. And, he’s going to be back on TV again.  All I could do was wonder what his original idea was… did he from the beginning dream of writing for SNL and being the Tonight Show host? Or did he just want to take some improv and make people laugh?

Anyway, I’ve been trying to give myself permission. Permission to try new things. Permission to fail at them. Permission to succeed at them. Permission to enjoy myself. Permission to take days off. Permission to work all day on one stinking project.

Permission to breathe,

A.C.

Leave a Reply

