Stories and Stuffies

I’m reading an anthology called Stories that I got away with buying because it’s edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sorrentonio, thus it fits into my collection. So far it’s perfect, every story has been wonder-full and engaging. Definitely worth a read.

The Day Job has been picking up in some ways, which is interesting. I’m enjoying the new challenges and trying to find equilibrium. I try and keep the Day Job out of my blog, but often there’s this balance between a career and my art that is difficult to find… one shouldn’t overwhelm the other, and that is part of art and my experience.

Oh, and I joined a gym, shooting for three times a week. I notice I sleep better after good cardio, which is a plus. I’m going with the fabulous Jose and the gorgeous Madam and my wonderfully sexy hubby. I feel a little bit like a liar while I’m there, just because it seems like such a corporate way to get exercise, but with the Oregon weather, it’s often the only way. Plus also Sauna and Steam Room! Woot.

Manute Bol passed away this week. I’m so sad to hear that. I wish he could have seen those schools built, he was so passionate about it. One of those people who make me wonder what I’m doing with my life, what I should be doing, what I could be doing. The truth is that I’m not so passionate about any thing. But I’ll try and make sure those schools get finished. Maybe that’s what I need to do right now, is just contribute… all I can do is to continue to seek the LORD and follow his prompting.

I’m trying to find balance in lots of places. Work, relationships, art… it’s all so delicate, sometimes so fine. I realize I let people walk on me a lot, while at other times I’m too brassy and stubborn… but the difference can be minuscule between the two sometimes.

In other news, I’m gearing up to be done with some of my paper crafts and maybe work on some stuffies. I can’t decide whether I want to do animals, dolls, or just creatures. I have too many ideas stuffed into my head, and I need to just pick one.

ylang ylang,

A. C.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sabrina
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 20:55:52

    Been meaning to recommend an author to you. Banana Yoshimoto. If you haven’t read any of her stuff already, I just re-read her book of short stories, called “Asleep.” It’s beyond perfect, and think you might really enjoy it when relaxing after a trip to the gym. (It’s even better when you are kinda sleepy) Hope you’ll get a chance to try it out. I also loved “Kitchen” and “NP.” cupcakes to all! ❤

    Reply

  2. anarchycupcakes
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 02:19:38

    OOooh… I will check her out! I’m always up for a good read. I’ll have to call/write you when I get my hands on some!

    Reply

  3. sabrina
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 01:52:54

    It’s a beautifully written book. I’m not sure if it is the only book that she wrote in Japanese and then had someone else translate, or if all her books were written and published that way. Either way, I know you will enjoy it, can’t wait to hear your feedback. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

