Sunday Somethings

I’m amazingly pleased with myself that I got my first Craftster swap in the mail.  I made two elephants.  I only intended to make one, but once I made the first, it was obvious it needed a friend.

I truly enjoyed making them.  But, my partner mentioned that she liked Dr. Horrible, and I realized that I really want to start making poppets and make them at a different level, so I’m going to be trying that in the next few months. I think if I start with Dr. Horrible characters, then I can branch out and design my own.  This would hopefully be machine sewing instead of hand sewing.

I want to try this pattern that I found on Craftster.

Also, as it’s pretending to warm up here in Oregon, I’ve been plotting my little urban garden plot.  I’ve come to the conclusion that if I’m really going to do this I have to 1. actually clean my porches and 2. actually plan well and 3. get some planters for the back porch, where most of the sun hits. Also, if I’m going to do this, I need to actually learn how to can, dry and otherwise preserve food.

I’m also going to post before and after pictures, and see how that goes.

As I was paying $4 for a loaf of bread the other day, it occurred to me that it might actually be more economical to get a bread maker.  They are pricey, but I’m crunching numbers right now to see what it would cost per loaf if I made my own.  It would also be nice to have bread that I don’t pay more for because I get the kind without preservatives. And ohhh, they have ones that you can make jam in.  Oh my… well, I know what I’ll be thrift shopping for in the near future!

I dream of someday doing a mostly unplugged kitchen, where I’d have the time and resources to make fresh bread without a breadmaker.

Ooh, beading time,

A.C.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fugzilla
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:16:43

    these are soooooooo pretty!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

