Dr. Oz and the Fatty

I’m a fatty, and generally I’m okay with that.  I have PCOS, and it makes it hard to keep from gaining weight, and I’m a foodie, so it’s kind of a given.

A couple of my bffs have had gastric bypass surgery.  They were PCOS girls who really for their health needed to take it to the next level, after doing everything they could do to lose weight.  Both had more than PCOS going on, and both had been battling the added weight for years. But that isn’t an option for me yet, and I’ll tell you why.

The truth is, that since I moved to Eugene I have not made an all out effort to lose weight.  Sure I’ve changed what I eat a bit, sporadically.  I started working out when some generous friends bought me a Wii for my birthday, but after working out and losing 5 lbs I utterly crashed (I found out later that it’s because the hormones stored in my fat released as I burned the fat and threw me waaay off kilter).

The fact of the matter though, is that I need to lose the weight to do the things I want to do in life.

So, since my friend Nancy was super successful going by Dr. Oz’s guidelines (which after reading them seems like a very reasonable and enjoyable lifestyle change), I thought I’d follow her example there.  She went from a size 20 to a size 2 in less than a year, because she stuck with it.

So today I went and did my grocery shopping.  I even found a BPA free thermos thing to take my smoothies to work with me in the morning.  I found stuff Ian would eat along the guidelines.

Then I cleaned out my fridge/cupboards.  That wasn’t so hard because I’ve been doing pretty well at home already, it’s just being consistent that I’ve struggled with, because I’m lazy.  (like not packing lunch and grabbing nasty fast food)

I have to figure out when I can do my Wii Active.  I either have to get up earlier (which is not the most awesome idea I can think of) or I need to do it first thing when I get home (which is not possible on Wednesdays and Thursdays).  I really don’t feel like getting up earlier, maybe if I do it gradually it won’t be such a big deal.  I’m thinking that while my tattoo is healing I’ll just start practicing getting up a little earlier every day, so when I get down to it, it won’t be such a big deal.

As far as keeping the hormones in check, I’m working with my friend Shale at the Midnight Garden Apothocary in town to see what we can do herbally to minimize those effects.  We’re going to experiment with different ways to cleanse during the weight loss phase.

I geared up to do this last year, but it never happened.  Mostly because a lot in my life came apart all at once and I just didn’t care.  I was all psyched up, but between the hormone crash, personal life drama, and just change in general, it wasn’t a good time.

This time I have the support of my husband, and my friend Jose, and I’m blogging/journaling again, which is always helpful.

So, that’s what’s new in my life.  I think it’s lovely.

peace, love and lots of leafy greens and flax,

 

A.C.

Leave a Reply

